Sticky wicket

I don't know why people are superstitious about Friday 13th...what about Monday 13th? This morning at work I went to the kitchen to get coffee and when I opened the wall cupboard a catering-size tin of cocoa powder, which unbeknown to me had been balancing precariously on the edge, fell down to earth, making contact with me on its way. This resulted in my new tunic, new jeggings and new black suede boots being covered in cocoa powder along with a large area of the kitchen floor. Despite my scream and the impact of the tin on the floor, nobody came to my rescue so I staggered through the cocoa haze into the corridor, looking like I'd been caught up in a terrorist attack.

Brenda, one of our lovely healthcare assistants, happened to be in the corridor with one of the GPs. The latter laughed hysterically while Brenda sent me off to the loos to clean up a bit while she searched for appropriate cleaning equipment for the kitchen floor. When I returned, in a slightly less dusty state, Sue the housekeeping manager from the hospital next door, had coincidentally arrived with a vacuum cleaner and proceeded to hoover me and then the floor. The good news is, my clothes should be okay although the boots need a bit more brushing yet. All's well that ends well, as they say.

In other news, this evening there was a message on the answerphone from someone who lives by the cricket club reporting that the lights had been on all weekend and were still on, so when Mr DA got home from work we popped down (safety in numbers as it's in a very dark location) to switch them off. Pictured is a bit of cricket club topiary.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.