foxfollower

By foxfollower

The Poppy Field

Art as therapy, and also poppies, seem to be recurring themes for me this weekend. This picture is from an exhibition at Sarum College, where we were staying, titled Paint Me This Way: Transforming Lives Through Portrait Therapy. The artist, Susan Carr, uses portrait therapy as a way of helping people with life-threatening and chronic illnesses to foster a stronger sense of self and to tell their stories.
The card next to the picture reads:
The Poppy Field
by Susan Carr
'Rose said...
I was born and bred in London
and yet...
Every summer...til I was 10 years old
Mum and Dad took me to Yorkshire
And left me at my Aunt's
For 5 weeks.
I ran around barefoot, wild and free,
And lay down in a poppy field
Where no-one could see me...'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.