Rainy Day in Oregon

By jerispics

Curly Dock

I was out scouting around the place late this afternoon for something to shoot. I took some photos of teasel and qal, grasses, and then turned around to see the sun shining on the dock plant. I really liked the colors so this had to be it for today. When we were kids we used to call this indian tobacco. I don't know where we got that name. We would strip the plant of its seeds by grasping low on the stem and pulling upwards. Using them as 'pretend' food in our tree forts and I'm sure spreading more seed all over our little part of the county. Oops.
Not quite as hot here today. More pleasant.
I made Marionberry ice cream today. Fresh raw cream, farm fresh eggs from Gracie, farm picked Marionberries that I put in the freezer last month.
It's really good!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.