Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

PROVENCE

The far end of the garden has a decidedly Provençal air about it this week, as the VSP's sunflowers come into bloom, the sun beats down and all that is lacking is some bouillabaisse, patisserie and and pastis. The VSP is only here on a Sunday into Monday, so hasn't seen these flowers yet. I can't wait to see his reaction!

I have been sadly accepting that he can no longer be called VSP (Very Small Person). He dresses himself, goes a pedal bike, can reach the kitchen counter without standing on a stool, etc, etc. I don't want to confuse his faithful blip followers, though, so from now on he will be the VIP. Given the central place he holds in our lives, this is a very accurate description.

Mostly domestic chores this morning, including sewing cushion covers for the business. In tidying the spare room for next week's visitor, I came across the kists in which I store mementos for our two Canadian grandchildren - now almost 7 and 13. I realise I have not put anything in for several years - what a slipshod long distance granny I am. Pottering around the garden in the afternoon. A patch of oregano has spilled over and blocked the path, but I can't bear to trim it back as it is full of bees - at one point I counted 12 bumble bees, of at least two different varieties and 8 hoverflies or hoverfly lookalikes. I could sit and watch them for hours.

Off out soon to spend the evening with some very dear friends.

GOOD THINGS
Having the time to potter
Sitting in the sunshine while the Prof makes me laugh
Watching the bumblers

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.