A similar day to yesterday

Back blip

Visited J, widow of another cousin, then a trip round the corner to see her son the baker. A family business for 3 generations. I remember as a small child being allowed to go out to the aviaries in the back garden with Uncle B, my father’s eldest brother. He bred canaries, which seemed so exotic to me, compared to Peter our budgie at home.
 
Today we came away with a supply of butteries and current loaf…..pleasure to come when we get home. The quantities are curtailed by the fact we are going home by train, so have to carry everything.

Down to Banff Castle, not really a castle, but this 18th Century mansion is on the original site, to visit a collectables fair. Not really my scene, I remember some of the ‘stuff’ from it’s first time round.   

Then over the road to see a painting and photography exhibition, part of the North East Open Studios. Very good.  

Finally, down to Duff House to see round again. It has a very interesting history and since it was restored and reopened in 1995 I have made a point of visiting each time I’ve been in Banff.     

My picture of the house in extras doesn’t do it justice due to the scaffolding so here’s a LINK
   
Dinner tonight is at the hotel; H is joining us. A very pleasant and amusing evening.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.