Clock

The other day George posted a back-blip dated 15/11/1990 which included a postcard I sent him from the village we lived in at the time. He also mentioned the village clock which sits on the recreation ground. I was over that way today so I decided to go and grab a photo for you guys because, as you know, I love you all - even that rather shady looking bloke over there.

The village is Eccles and it's near Aylesford in Kent - check out the map. It grew up originally to house workers from the local clay pits and the older terraced houses are made with distinctive local bricks. The clock tower is the war memorial and the face I've shown in the blip looks out onto the recreation field and lists those who died between 1939 and 1945. The names of those commemorated from the Great War face the village.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.