Coppertone

Coppertone - 4.14pm
Gold - 3.18pm
Silver - 1.10pm

1.10pm a brief break in the thick blanket of soft grey cloud that had covered the sky since yesterday morning.
3.18pm I headed out on errands, snapping the gold en route as it looked like it might be swallowed up again.  It was, but the atmosphere became so eerie that I detoured to sit on the promenade for fifteen minutes watching the sky in the southwest.  Flat grey with the odd glimmer of white light, the sun beneath the horizon.
4.14 by the time I got home everyone was stopping and staring at the sky or whipping out their phones.  It looked and felt apocalyptic.  An effect I've never seen before.

So coppertone it is.  I was sort of relieved when darkness fell.

PS when I googled 'coppertone' to see if it was an actual word I realised it was the name of the tinted moisturiser my mother always wore.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.