Legacy

By Legacy

Snow Day

Well, after nine months of retirement I've finally discovered one of the best things about not having to work; getting up in the morning, looking out the window at a winter scene and knowing that instead of slithering to work on a slippery road, I can just pour another cup of tea and curl up with a good book.  Frankly, I've had some trouble dealing with not working anymore so this was quite a positive revelation.  I started working 60 years ago and, with only a little time off to have my children, I've been working straight through until March of this year.  Up until today it's been touch and go finding the silver lining.  I miss my friends at work terribly and I haven't quite found the positive side to having no responsibilities, less money and no real direction.  I know from talking to others that it takes about a year and a half to get comfortable so that makes me feel a bit better.  It's funny that retirement is something we all dream about but nobody really expects it to be a bit of a nightmare.  I'm sure I'll adjust, I just wish it would happen sooner rather than later.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.