Metal working

I have had the task of drilling four holes through a significant piece of steel.  I had limited success yesterday and broke some drill bits as I tried to get through.  Thinking they were not fit to drill through steel, I sought replacements and some advice from the local hardware shop.

I explained the task and they gave me some sound advice as well as new, sharp drill bits.  The secret apparently was to do it incrementally.  Very small to begin with and then increasing in size until the required width was achieved.  Simple.

As I was leaving, I was told that there was one other thing required which they did not sell in the shop.  My enthusiasm started to dissipate.  Oh, I said, and what would that be and where could I get it.

'Patience' he said.  'Lots of patience'.

Anyway, I found some patience and took it into the studio with the new drill bits where I successful drilled the required holes through the steel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.