Let There Be Light

By solli

Twelve Spotted Skimmer

Libellula pulchella

Thank you all for your hearts, stars and comments on the tree swallow family. I'm so glad you enjoyed them as much as I did!

This is the first time I've seen a 12 spotted male skimmer and I was very surprised by how large they are in comparison to the other black and white winged dragonflies. This guy was pretty spectacular, especially when the sunlight hit those wings and the white spots glowed! I had to follow him around the field in order to take his portrait, but it was worth it! He's good large!

I posted another photo to Flickr, and if you'd like to take a peek, please click here.

My company has returned home, so I hope to catch up with everyone's journals tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.