Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A fun Tuesday

A Leo day today. In fact, my last one for a while. Leo's granny is going to do two days, and I'll just fill in when needed. I'm happy with this as I was finding the 11 hour days bloomin' a tad knackering tiring.

So I had to have a Leo blip. This toy is hilarious. When pressed, its mouth goes to an O shape and it sings a word at each press of 'Oh my Darling Clementine'. I'm not sure if Leo likes it, and I love this puzzled look he's giving it. When it's left for a while it'll just say 'Night Night' on its own. Spooky. We'd both look at it and then look at each other in joint puzzlement.

He was in fine fettle today. No sign of a morning snooze, though. Even though we had a really good game for half an hour or so of me pretending to be asleep in the chair. He kept looking at me and climbing up and lying on me, just looking around, waving his arms about and looking at me again. He wandered around the room just playing quietly, looking at this strange sight again and again. I was tempted to give some big snores. I enjoyed that game.

We took a walk out when the rain stopped, and it was hot and sunny. We went to the cafe near the library, as it caters for toddlers (and has very nice scones, of course). It was fun to watch Leo in the toy corner with a couple of wee Chinese girls. One was a wee baby with lots of black hair in a thick fringe, and she was sitting on the floor. Leo kept touching her hair. And her eye, actually. The other slightly older wee girl was very possessive about the toys and would not let him touch the one she had. Leo just stared at her. He'll have to get used to stroppy girls!

The steaming hot sunshine on the way home suddenly changed to torrential rain, but we were able to stand under a huge tree in the park while I fiddled with the plastic pram cover. I'm sure his feet were not meant to stick out. And he didn't mind when I took it off and the rainwater poured down his neck. He may think I don't quite measure up as a carer, though.

The rain soon went off and I indulged in the fun game that I've just discovered invented - pram chicken. The hooligans schoolchildren had just been let out and were surging along the park footpaths in groups. But I'd just march straight ahead, without hesitation or deviation*, and the 5 abreast kiddies had to move aside, usually at the last minute. I had several opportunities for this. It takes nerves of steel, but the trick is not to engage in eye contact.

That was two fun games today. Not bad for a Tuesday!

* A long running UK radio panel game where they have to talk for a minute on a given topic without hesitation, deviation or repetition.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.