ElectricFish

By ElectricFish

The First Time Ever

As I read the death notice tonight to Johnny I may have sounded like the quintessential bore but I guess many there didn't realize Johnny couldn't read the death notice for his wife lying beside us in the coffin. As we sat in the parlour neighbours arrived and sat for a cup of tea, a sandwich and a chat. She was the moon and stars to me he told them all.
I was moved by the condolence book inside the front door lit, by the twinkling Christmas tree. I obviously left my camera in my pocket!!!!! and, instead, I took this photograph of the moon and the stars he spoke of as I made way home.
When I did get home I played this song for Johnny and for Tess and for those who need it....just saying
Ewan McColl's The First Ever I Saw Your Face.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.