Out of Focus

A few years ago, when Dan and Abi's mum decided it was time for a new car, I bought her old one, a Ford Focus, from her. It had given good years of service and I thought it would be a reliable car, a known quantity, for my older girls to drive around in. 

Now that the three older ones are in Manchester and London, and Milly is about to go travelling again, I decided now might be a good time to get rid of the car, although I didn't feel I could legitimately ask anyone to actually pay for it. You know how cars get; the back windscreen wiper doesn't work, there's a slow puncture in one of the tyres and so on. 

As luck would have it, Hannah's boyfriend, whom I really like, needs a car but, characteristically, didn't want to take the car for nothing, so in the end we agreed he'd pay for the repair to the exhaust, which I had fixed recently.

All that left was the logistics of getting it to him. The simplest solution was for me to drive it down to Hannah, so I did that, this evening. Having parked the car, we took the tram to Piccadilly for a bite to eat before I caught a train back to stay with the Minx. 

This, then, is the 'New Islington' tram stop, featuring Hannah on the platform. Maybe there's a legitimate, historical justification for the name. I hope so, and that they haven't picked the name in a half-baked attempt to gentrify the area. As was seen in London a hundred years ago, the inclusion of an area on the transport network will in itself take care of making an area more popular (if not necessarily nicer!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.