Ambleside

A quick dash across to Ambleside, this afternoon, to drop a load of signed papers off with the accountant. It was one of those days when you receive the dividend from living in the lakes; gorgeous light, low in the sky, illuminating the hills as everyone huddles through the streets below.

I took the opportunity on the way back to stop off in Windermere to return to an antiques shop that the Minx and I visited a few weeks ago after we'd been to Hawkshead. There was a pair of boxing hares that I thought I might give her for Christmas but when I got there I found they weren't as I'd remembered them. Bugger.

This evening we went out for dinner with some friends, eating at the Sun Inn. The food there has always been good but I stopped going there a few years ago; I found the restaurant was too brightly lit and there was also a very distracting large mirror on the wall. Happily, they're redecorated and the room is now more subdued and the mirror has gone. While the menu was quite limited, the food was excellent, as, happily, were both the wine and the company.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.