Foreveryoung

By weemusings

Christmas Traditions

Well today was not my "normal kind" of Christmas day!

On a not so good note my Grandad passed away yesterday after being quite ill. He has been through so many scares and suffered various conditons over the years but fought on regardless until now. I will really miss him and it made this Christmas day that bit harder especially as it has not even been a month since the death of my father-in-law.

So with my parents in England (where my Grandad lived) my husband and I along with my mother-in-law joined my sister and her husband today.
We kept to our family traditions during the day, having Christmas lunch at 1pm then watching the Queens speech then opening our presents one by one. Our mum was very impressed when we spoke to her later!

Yes you read correctly that we don't open our presents until after 3pm. A lot of people are shocked/horrified that we have to wait so long for our presents but in our household it is always how it has been done so we don't find it unusual at all.

As children Christmas morning was always taken up by opening our stockings and playing with the contents. Christmas lunch was usually ready soon after, and by the time this was finished we all watched the queens speech, the longest 10 mins ever before we finally got our big presents!
We also had a present kept for Boxing day too!

The time in-between was usually taken up by playing games, watching TV. today at my sisters it was a large version of Jenga.

Hope you all had a lovely Christmas day and thoughts to everyone whose loved ones couldn't be with them for whatever reason today.

Oh and am I the only one with funny traditions, what are yours?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.