Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Cake!

Kerri and Luke took Archie out this morning and we set to removing the Christmas 'decorations'. JR is always very reluctant to do this - she'd like them to stay up all year round. We did compromise and left the 'winter lights' on the mantelpiece.

In the afternoon, I lit the fire and we watched a couple of 'Great Interior Design Challenge' episodes, where over-confident amateur designers come and completely 'make over' a room in someone's house.

Rufus and his mum came to check out our holiday itinerary, asking if I would be doing the 'cycling tour of the vineyard' (NO), then we all went for a wander round the Links. I must say, I was more tempted to stay at home, but reluctantly joined them, as I know it's good for me (and my knees).

Back home, and the new neighbours came to door to return the cake tin we delivered last week. And there was a cake in it - a very yummy carrot cake. But Archie did his usual hysterical barking, which rather alarmed the wee girl, and she would not come in. What's to do? A muzzle? (For Archie, not the wee girl).

This is the only photo I took today - Miss Jean Brodie's school. Or, at least, it's the one I've always thought of as being her school - the Marcia Blaine School for Girls. It's now student accommodation. I added a bit of drama, as the light was so flat.

Now, a bit more of that carrot cake, I think...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.