Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Scones

It was blowing a hoolie all night, and the evidence was everywhere this morning - discarded Christmas trees, placed by the bins for pick up, were all over the place - blocking pavements, wedged next to cars, in the middle of the road.

This afternoon I took a sudden urge to make scones. I love scones, but I've never had an urge to make them before. Mainly because they would never be good enough to offer to guests, so I'd have to eat them all by myself.

However, this morning I noticed a post it note on the fridge (it's been there for years) and it was a recipe for scones with only three ingredients. We had two of them already - flour and cream (that needed using up) - I just had to pop out and get some lemonade.

Well, what a mess. JR offered her considerable baking knowledge - the dough has to be 'fairly wet' and wandered off. It was. I could barely scrape the huge pile of sticky goo off the bench. I thought it might make a couple of dozen scones, but I only made 10. Mind you, they're the size of my fist.

They are actually quite edible, but not really shareable. Except perhaps with the birds. Talking of birds, I put an upturned (plastic) flowerpot on the dish with seeds, to deter the big fat pigeons eating it all. I didn't see them, but they must have chucked it aside within minutes and tucked in. Barbed wire next...

We all had a lazy afternoon on our sofas, though it was sunny with clear blue skies for quite a while. I was reading a book - I usually use my Kindle as it's so easy in bed to turn a page with one finger. Archie was on top of me, but I was doing my leg stretching exercises too. Every now and again Archie would peer over my book with a hopeful ’Walkies?' look. JR took him to the Links later, and unfortunately timed it to coincide with a sleet shower. Arthur's Seat one day, round the block the next - he's happy to fit in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.