Shocked - But Good News

You kind of accept things for the way they are.
So eighteen years ago I bid a tearful farewell to my eldest daughter Sarah and grandson Luis as they flew to Spain to join Manolo in their new life.
During the course of that eighteen years I have visited umpteen times both alone or with the family, Anais my eldest granddaughter was born in 2004, Sarah had her 40th in 2012, Luis his 18th in 2015 and Manolo his 50th in 2016, all great family occasions.
As the years pass you accept that Spain is their permanent home and after all Barcelona's not a bad place to spend a week-end or fortnight.

So tonight when Sarah rang to tell me they were coming back to Cornwall this year the news caught me by surprise.
Manolo comes first in a week or two with Sarah and Anais at the end of the school year, probably August, Luis has yet to decide.
So they will now be 45 minutes away and I have the opportunity to be with them more often.
They won't be here forever, eventually they will return to Spain, but not back to Barcelona.
Exciting times.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.