Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

Like a message in a bottle

Today's Northern storm kept me more indoors than planned, and after receiving an e-mail from a friend in Greece I decided to reorganise my photo files from then and thus found this one with surfers at the coast of Rafina and with the island Evvia in the distance. That was another almost stormy day then, and as weather and location coïncides both with today's storm here and my friend's calling, I use it for today entry.
In the extra my friends in Rafina then.

Apart from the personal message, he always adds his view on the state of affairs in Greece, what I cherish dearly. He could have been a nice reporter:) I'll put a translation of his piece here as I think it tells you what may not be commonly known:

" At the moment Greece is touched by Siberian weather. And as always most people complain and sigh, also they now lack financial resources and heating costs are suddenly most real. My apartement in Rafina is therefore a kind of no-go area, as it takes me two days to get some heat in. The walls and floors and ceilings are plastered, or covered with stone, that all beams off cold and without neighbours in the building now, the chance of heating it up is nill. So I'm staying in Athens with Marika in our apartment with thick walls from 1951 and we live on the ground floor. The CH is of the that same year and isn't efficient, but that does not matter, as it radiates warmth even after turning it off.
Especially the skyrocketing property taxes here are killing. Anyone who owns extra properties could sell but the housing market made a steep fall; even predatory prices are like a farce. This is one of the structural problems in Greece. The others are the high level of unemployment, the aging population with high pension rights, the wiped off small-middle class, the 50.000 and more refugees "waiting" to go  elsewhere... nowhere?! Tourism has less revenues (despite more tourists coming) High defense spending, because of threads from Turkey and our outdated equipment and other "glitches".
I think the UK minister of finance minister does not need to be jealous of his Greek colleague. "

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.