Paddington

Did 'the bounce' to London, today, but this time with my colleague Steve, which made for an altogether more enjoyable journey. It's lovely to have such good company and, of course, to have someone to watch your stuff while you go to the buffet car for coffees. 

Not that I'm generally mistrustful of people but once I went to the loo on a train and left my book on a table - Louis de Bernières' 'The Troublesome Offspring Of Cardinal Guzman', as it happens - and when I came back it was gone. Charitably, I'd like to think someone assumed it had been abandoned and wanted to give it a home, but I did have nothing to do for the rest of the journey.

Anyway, back to today: we had a satisfying meeting at Heathrow and then began the journey back home again taking the bus to the CTA* to catch  the Heathrow Express** to Paddington (where I took this photo), then the tube to Euston Square and, finally, the train from Euston to the expansively named Oxenholme - The Lake District. We even had a beer each on the train to celebrate how well the meeting went.

Looking back at the photo, and knowing nothing about architectural history, I wonder what other buildings had such large unsupported roofs before train stations? I can't think of any contenders off the top of my head.

*Central terminal area
** Most overpriced train journey in the UK

****
Diet news
-2.5kg (still). One beer today. First alcoholic drink since Sunday 1st.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.