horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Rouken Glen CX

Forgive me the narcissism, but despite me loving both of the extra shots below, I've gone with one of me from the cross racing today (as taken by Ken). This was the last climb of the last lap, giving everything to overtake the guy behind me, then making it stick in the following singletrack section. All to get 55th place.

Now this was the B race, so technically the 'slow' race, but I was in that race for three of the Super Quaich series last year, and never finished as high. I had no idea how I'd go, given the commute the last couple of weeks has been ridiculously hard, but I think I can now safely put that down to the heavier bike, and constant morning headwinds, because today I felt great. Yeah, burst at points of the course that didn't suit me, but able to grind those out, then nail other sections. Two run-ups with the bike on shoulder helped me, and I'm always okay over the hurdles. And so I wound up almost, so very almost, in the top half of the field. A good indicator is finishing ahead of a good few riders I've often finished behind up till now.

So the narcissism in also tainted with some pride, so next Sunday's race in Ayr may well bring a fall, but I'm going to relish it for the moment.

Long day. Out the door at 8.30 to drive over; race; photos of the A race; drive home; go out for some medical supplies for Mel who isn't well; alternately make dinner and process photos; drink beer; relax. Bask indeed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.