horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Commuted

It might not seem like a big deal, but today I got back into commuting by bike... I could have put it off, given the wet conditions, those being the same as when I fell off at the end of June last year. But best to just get back on the horse. Granted, I was admittedly a bit nervous, and I've never in my life been so tentative on tight corners. However... that felt great.

One thing I was worried about was that the 23kg weight would mean the balance between taking it easy enough not to hamper the turbo training and actually making some forward momentum that would be worthwhile, wouldn't be in any way realistic. But I needn't have worried. Heart rate nicely within a low zone, the three hub gears plenty for the hills on my route, and to maintain an easy cruise on the flat.

I'll not be throwing myself back into the cycle commute every day. Given I'm still doing the turbo training I need to see how it works with that, and there's then no problem with occasionally taking public transport to work. This should work out really nicely....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.