Friday: Inauguration

Well, the day has come.  And it's no coincidence that this sign, on the new tower bearing the same name, was unveiled today.  I didn't watch the inauguration - I was out, and was disinclined to catch up on it later.  But I've heard snippets.

I was listening to a UBC academic being interviewed the other day.  When asked what he said to his students who were fearful of current times, he said that, if you can learn to put aside your personal feelings and put them in a separate place, these are actually fascinating times that we live in and is probably the most interesting time that has existed politically for generations.  That hasn't stopped me feeling today like I did on 24th June.  Isn't there a Chinese curse along the lines of 'may you live in interesting times'?

In other news, we had a team lunch in Burnaby.  We used a voucher the office was given last year when a catering company just completely forgot to honour an obligation that they had with us.........it was before my time, but we got a free lunch out of it.

I already miss Barack.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.