RavensRoost

By RavensRoost

The Winding Road of Women's Rights

Feminism is the radical notion that women are human beings.” Cheris Kramarae, academic

While I couldn't participate in person at the Women's March today, I was there in spirit. This image made me think of the long and winding road of women's rights and human rights. In shadow and sun, through clouds, fog and snow, up hill and down, this has been a slog towards justice. 

I recall being part of the feminist wave of the early 1970's. Perhaps this is the beginning of another wave of feminist activism that will lead to positive change. In today's blips and news photos, I saw the energy and enthusiasm of young people. They are the future, and it is heartwarming to see them involved in this struggle for freedom and equality.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.