Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

2017 Saturday -- Winter Storm Surf

We were notified by local authorities that today's ocean would produce huge waves. Their prediction was correct. We also had some rain.

My special friend and colleague posted a heart-felt and poignant message today on social media. She is deeply distrubed by the friction we all are experiencing. Her words captured many of my thoughts as well. So I'm sharing her message with my ocean photo.

"I used to think that having so many diverse friends here on FB was cool. But over the last few days I feel the strength of opposition. Most of you have never met each other yet it was like there was a war going on, in my head anyway. I hear you and agree with much of what you have to say yet I don't really identify comfortably with either side completely. There needs to be space for those who support women's rights yet are pro life too. There needs to be a faster and more efficient way of legal immigration. I agree that we don't need walls, we need bridges, yet even more importantly we need conversations. So feeling overwhelmed, I escaped to a place that is one of my favorite sanctuaries, the coastline. The cool breezes and crashing waves drowned out my conflicting thoughts. And I came up with this-Donald Trump didn't divide us. We were already divided and have been since the Civil War, just as President Obama didn't unite us. We've had terrible events due to racial unrest. Presidents are powerful but not that powerful--but we are. I am, you are. So I asked myself what can I do to bring about good? Where? For whom? With whom? When? How? Now I need to get to work on these. So that was my afternoon. And it helped."

Peg and her husband and Mr. Fun and I have traveled together, vacationed together, raised kids together, and both of us have together been educators. Today our thoughts resonate.

Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.