bananablip

By bananablip

Resolute

I haven’t made many resolutions for this year, probably because I figure that things like ‘move house’ are probably going to happen whether I write a resolution about them or not. I’ll continue with my 50 books in a year target and try again for a Sub 2 hour half marathon that I didn’t achieve last year. Only one running target as my main plan is to simply enjoy running purely for the running. 

One resolution that I have made this year though is to learn to read maps properly. Last year I spent more time in the Shropshire Hills than I ever have done before and I absolutely loved it. Most of the walks were hampered by shockingly bad maps though, and we made it round more by luck than anything else. When I was starting to think about doing more trail running I popped into the local mountain store to get some advice. I had a moment of terror when he suggested that for most trail races, a map and a compass are required. I don’t even really know how to use a compass. So this year, I’m going to try and learn to read (and use) maps!

(Without becoming that person though. On my run up Haughmond yesterday I spotted a pair in full walking kit including map in a plastic folder around the neck. Bit extreme for a little pootle).

Popped into Oxfam this morning to drop off some books and stumbled across a glorious array of maps. Looking forward to going back and having a proper browse.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.