A slice of Lesley's life

By Lesley

Marbleous* Monday

A slightly brutal start to the week with a webinar at 9am.  Hard to believe I can have been sober when I agreed to that.  

Though followed by lovely, gentle downhill slide ever since. 

A very satisfying amount of  filling of cake tins and emptying of laundry baskets. 

A couple of very different but equally enjoyable Albi outings. One with the boy. One with a Hamilton Mixtape / Archers sandwich.  I like to think all involved would approve. 

A day of numbers for the boy and his personalised countdown system: 10 days until the 2nd opinion appointment at Alder Hey Children's Hospital and 1 month until we are with the research clinic in Miami. 

And before all that, 7 days until a working session in school.  Had a fabulous phone call today with the SENCO head that, apart from anything, made me realise that is what he is falling under now. In my slow to catch-upness I hadn't really adjusted my thinking to consider that he might be under a SENCO heading. Anyway, this seems to mean that the school consider themselves to have responsibility for providing him with all sorts of resources for aiding his transition back to school.  Obviously there are many stages to be gone through and I'm sure there will be many road bumps along the way and it won't all be perfect but it was surprisingly reassuring. Perhaps simply because it was a surprise. Or because it feels like we won't be doing it all on our own.  Anyway, watch this space of course but another very good day and the mood remains optimistic. 

Helped of course by my lovely godson popping in and being thoroughly entertaining. 

Anna has spent her now usual 11 hours out of the house which I suppose is probably good training for Mondays of the future. 

Though as Carl and I have both worked at home today perhaps not. 

Lesley x

*I may have over swirled and lost some of the effect but this is marble cake. Inspired by the splendid Cakescakecakes

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.