Our Next Chapter

By SnappyHQ

Grandma June

My parents got a phone call early this morning. It was my uncle. My Grandma June had passed away early this morning. She had been in hospital since November following an operation on her hip. She never recovered and had become increasingly confused and disoriented. We knew she was unlikely to ever be able to go home but we didn't expect this.

My Grandma June was a lovely lady. A true and genuine spirit. She had served as a nurse in the war and I had no doubt that she could be quite formidable when she needed to be. She escaped her abusive first husband then lost her second husband to cancer. She married my Grandad when I was about 7 or 8. Her daughter had MS and Grandma June nursed her till the end and almost single handedly brought up my cousin Paul.

I will always remember how much she truly loved my Grandad. I will always remember the trifles she would make for me and my brother whenever we visited as children. I will always remember how much I thought she looked like the queen. With beautifully soft powdery skin.

I'm sad that I never got to know her better. I'm sad that we weren't with her at the end. She had so many friends, she was loved by so many. I know she wasn't alone.

She's at rest now. We can all take peace from knowing that she's with my Grandad and Jack and reunited again with her daughter.

Have fun up there Grandma June. See you again someday x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.