Life's tangled skein

By atp

Working On The Water

Another photograph of the works for the new Forth Crossing!

Today we're at the north end of the Forth Road Bridge, on the western footpath, and looking south over the River Forth. Yes, the footpath is closed just now. I ducked under the gate and took a picture - by the time that was done a gentleman had driven to where I stood and very politely made sure I wasn't going to go any further onto the bridge.

Anyway, in the distance you can see the Niddry Pit Bing at Winchburgh - it's that rather un-natural looking hill at the left hand side of the picture.

On the river, we can see where I assume three of the bridge supports are going to be. The two southernmost ones have these huge metal cylinders sticking out of the water, and one is attended by floating cranes. There is a similar metal ring at the north side of the river, but that is out of shot in this picture.

In the middle is something new - it's what caught my eye and made me stop for this picture.

In some ways, it looks like a mini oil rig. Since I imagine we would have heard if a major oil field had been found in the River Forth, I can only assume it's something to do with construction. It appears to have two newly-created islands, one to each side of it. How these were created, I do not know.

Additionally, there is a little ship that looks as if it is heading out to the cranes - I wonder what it is bringing? Fresh drivers for the cranes, perhaps?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.