It's Only a Cactus

We awoke this morning to the kind of kill-me-now Saturday that we haven't had for quite a while. I had been led by the forecast to expect at the very least, a frosty day with perhaps snow, but what we got was a gloomy, wet, soggy morning with rain and a hopeless sky suspended at tree top level.

The plans we had last night fell apart at the seams, neither of us could face a bus journey through the more depressing parts of the city to reach our goal. Instead we took ourselves all of 100 yards to the café with a fire lit in the pizza oven. It was cheering to watch the flames and feel the warmth while His Lordship scoffed toast made by their heat.

You will notice that I did not have any toast, far less a scone, and heaven forbid that I should have consumed a cinnamon bun. No I nursed my coffee and ate a really tiny oat biscuit, yes, really tiny, nursing my virtuosity. It is a perverse fact that if one is on a self imposed restriction of calories, it is somehow self congratulatory in a strange way to see someone else overindulging.
While I waited for HL to finish, I found this cactus a fascinating blip model.

I am trying to persuade myself, now that the rain has stopped, to do a power walk lap of the saturated Meadows. I will ask His Lordship if he want to accompany me, but there is the distraction for him of rugby on the television.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.