The Shop With No Name

There is a shop in the village and it has no name.  It is simply number 20a on the high street.  It is run by a crafts person/artist who makes quirky decorations for the home, cards and jewellery - mainly from recycled materials.  She also sells local honey, so, amidst the snow, I popped in today and bought a jar.  It was harvested just down the road from where I live in August last year - what a treat for a dreary February day.

Later I walked up to the allotment.  The fencing we put up last weekend was looking good, although the resident mole has made a huge pile of soil right next to one of the posts.  I stopped for a while and watched the birds in the trees - a group of long tailed tits were chattering away, along with blue tits and great tits, and a fieldfare sat in the top of a near by hawthorn tree.  When I got home I was pleased to see that a little coal tit has been feeding off of a dried sunflower head I hung from my apple tree a few weeks ago.  I think the birds are a great inspiration at this time of year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.