The Daily Fox ...

By MaggieB

Another day ..

I went in to sit with mum this morning (Saturday). I didn't know what I'd find - but she'd survived the night.

I'd printed off some memories mum had written down a few years ago and read them to her. This is the part I returned to again and again - this is where I want her to be in her head.

The rest of the day in a nutshell - our lovely ex neighbour (a good friend and a methodist minister) came when called to see mum and console me. It was lovely to see her - she's also agreed to take the service when the time comes (if my sisters agree - and I know they will)

My sister arrived early evening.The district nurse was called because mum had seemed to be in pain - but the lovely nurse watched her for a long time and decided not to administer the pain relief as mum by that time looked very settled (apparently it inhibits respiration)

We'd decided to come home once the nurse had been - so back home at 2 am.

The home rang at 4.30am to say they'd called the nurse again as mum's breathing was so shallow - but I've heard nothing since.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.