The Daily Fox ...

By MaggieB

Today is a very different day. Mum is now mentally as well as physically back at home!

She's being very sweet - after lunch I commented on what a lovely sunny day it was, and would she mind if I popped out with my camera for a bit ..

She said that was fine - young people needed to get out into the fresh air! I asked her if she knew how old I was? 

'32' - if only! When I put her right she was quite shocked!

However she told me I must go out and enjoy myself and not to worry about her or think I ought not to go, she was very happy as she was.

So off I went - and saw oodles of kestrels - and here's one of them in extra photos. I really love kestrels.

I took the photo of the sun setting over the Humber on my iPhone.

I got home to find mum in the downstairs loo in, shall we say, a bit of a pickle.

It's a minute loo and involved quite a lot of contortions on my part to sort her out.

Back in the lounge, she said 'You sorted out my illness very well - thank you'

I find it so strange that she can say all these very lovely and kind things, and at the same time have a head full of delusions.

People who haven't experienced dementia at close hand often ask if mum has 'lucid moments'

I don't feel it's at all like that - these different states seem to exist in parallel, to me - not either/or.

But what do I know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.