Sponsio Academica....

51 years ago I walked in to the David Hume Tower for my first ever seminar in Higher Education.   In Moral Philosophy.

In the ancient Scottish Universities, matriculating students had to sign the Sponsio Academica.    Originally it had to be said aloud - in Latin.    St Andrews had the longest...the first part reads "We students who set down our names hereunder in all good faith make a solemn promise that we shall show due deference to our teachers in all matters relating to order and good conduct; that we shall be subject to the authority of the Senatus Academicus and shall, whatever be the position we attain hereafter, promote, so far as lies in our power, the profit and the interest of our University of St Andrews......"


Edinburgh was/is much more succinct.  I acknowledge that in all matters relating to the teaching and discipline of the University I have willingly placed myself under the jurisdiction of the Senatus Academicus, and I recognise that if, in the opinion of the Senatus, my studies or my conduct are unsatisfactory, it has authority to forbid my continuance upon courses qualifying for a degree.  


I'm glad to report that I managed six years around here without upsetting the Senatus Academicus.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.