Who knew?

By InOtherNews

Green Day

I hear that photography and music are both theraputic.... I'm currently experiencing some 'interesting times'* and felt that I could do with a little therapy. Therefore here is my Green Day CD collection. Or a part of it.

I've been a Green Day fan since the release of the superb 1994 album Dookie. Around that time I began buying up everything they'd recorded. In this little lot there are bootlegs, limited edition 9£40) Tour Packs, a brain shaped CD (that comes with a warning 'do not play') and a limited edition (individually numbered) green cased Welcome to Paradise single.

As the years have progressed their music has become a little less relevant for me. Early on they recorded songs about teenage angst, rejection by popular girls and the bordeom of life in your late teens. I identified with that. However recently they've become more politically motivated, but I feel have sold out a little to the mass market. I saw them back in 1995 in front of a few hundred people - now they pull in fans who weren't even born when Billie Joe sung about a girl in his local library rejecting him. It mattered to me once.

I even collected a lot of vinyl although I traded it for just £25 beer money in my early twenties. I had a copy of their '39 smooth' EP which was a limited run of just 3,000 copies in the Chicago area. I don't remember how the £25 was spent, probably on being sick.

In other news all this leads nicely into a few back blips. As I mentioned things have been busy of late and somedays all I have time for is a quick snap of something in my living room, recently CD's. Therefore I've prepared (an entirely self indulgent and undemanded) series (random back blips) based around my music collection.

Strap yourself in folks, this is going to be exciting. Maybe.

* Interesting Times being a book by Terry Pratchett that concludes one doesn't really want to live through 'interesting times', mainly because interesting times mean big shitstorms for people.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.