Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Early morning poseurs

Shower finished! I was out by 8am this morning. Spurred on by the anticipated racket of the local radio, but also, I wanted to try some HDR shots up Carlton Hill before the duvet of clouds came over.

Talking of duvets, I decided to splash out on a nice pillow. A while ago JR and I went to buy pillows. JR got a Polish goose down one costing a small fortune, but I bought the £10 one. I had no idea that pillows could be so expensive. And I didn't want to be all woosy and needing a particular pillow in order to be able to sleep. I mean, you have to be able to sleep on all sorts of pillows.

However, as I was awake last night again, coughing, I decided to splash out. Not that the coughing had anything to do with the pillow. And so I could kill two birds with one stone this morning - get my early blip, buy a pillow, and oh! - three birds! - avoid the radio!!

And so I was up Carlton Hill along with a bus load of Japanese teenagers. What avid snappers they are, and what posers they are! They spent ages posing and screaming and being silly. I took a shot of them as I walked by, and it turns out to be the one I like best from this morning - the columns look quite dramatic, and I like the morning light. I do hope they're not being too rude - just as well it's a still photo, but I'm sure there will be some movies of the action. They certainly have lots of fun together.

From there I nipped down to the shop which does not need to play muzak 'to enhance their customers shopping experience' - but people seem to shop very happily without it - John Lewis. I headed for the pillow department. You have no idea how many different kinds of pillows there are!

I went along prodding and pummeling, until I was spotted by an assistant. I pointed at one in the mid price range. It had 'modal' in it, he told me, as a deal-clincher. I must have looked somewhat unimpressed, so he continued,

'That's the stuff they put in tee shirts to stop you sweating, keeps your body regulated ...'

At my quizzical look, he went on -

"And so it will regulate your... er... er... your head."

Sold! I need my head regulated! Regularly.

The shower looks lovely. Valdek was a real perfectionist. And he tidied up each day. If you need a plumber/tiler/builder in the Edinburgh area, just contact me! Maybe get two quotes - one with and one without muzak. lol

I'll now clean the common stairs and wash them. They do need a good going over after the Festival Folk and the builders. It's nice to have everything shipshape again.

And peaceful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.