Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A plank for lunch!

The pillow worked well. It seemed to regulate my head (but how would I know?) though not my coughing. Money well spent.

Off to My Club to meet up with a friend who casually mentioned that she'd like to see the Oz photos... little did she know how many there are. lol

We flicked through the first 500 or so before we called it a day. There are rather a lot of Percy the Pelican and reflective river shots, not to mention beach sunsets.

From there we went to check out Jamie's Italian now that the crowds have gone. It was still crowded, but it's really brilliant what's been done with that lovely old building. It's great to see it with a new lease of life. We had a brilliant 'plank' - a sharing platter served on wooden bread boards. And the wonderful polenta chips. The 'plank' was set up on two tins of tomatoes - groovy. The waiter was very knowledgable - obviously well trained and had eaten everything on the menu. He insisted on describing everything on the 'plank'.

Of course, my usual complaint - the muzak. The place is so busy and buzzy - that's what creates 'ambiance'. Nobody wants to be sitting in deathly silence. But above the loud buzz of hundreds of people chatting and enjoying a meal - there is the twanging and screeching of Whitney Houston wannabes. Why?

The waiter said they seem to be doing it right - they'd been so busy since they opened. I ventured to say they'd be just as busy without the muzak. True, Mr Oliver! Still, it's brilliant, and I will go back - great food served with flair, reasonable prices, good service, excellent coffee and brilliant loos. 9/10!

Popped into a shop that does get the music right - no sudden screechy stuff, just great soundtrack. Anthropologie. I often go in for a look around and listen to the music! Lest you think I'm just an old anti- music fuddy duddy.

Talking of music, these two wee girls were playing really nicely - and they were opposite some loud thumpy screechy muzak on the other side. I don't know where it was emanating from, unless it was builders taking down the bouncy thingie on top of Princes Mall. And we know how builders need LOUD NOISE in order to work.

I hope the wee girls made plenty of money and can get the piano sooner rather than later. I'm sure my generous donation will help!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.