In Memory

Today is 6 years since the earthquake that killed 185 people in Christchurch and destroyed homes, livelihoods and in some cases lives. The Chief Coroner has attributed 40 suicides to the quakes and there are likely others.

The National Earthquake Memorial is a few minutes from work. It was dedicated today and I wandered up to observe some of the service and a minute of silence.

It was deeply moving and more emotional than I anticipated. I thought of my friend Rhys and all who love him, of lives changed forever, and those who bravely rescued others and pulled bodies from the rubble.

I guess the recent Port Hills fires and the impact of the death of Steve Asken as he flew his helicopter to fight the fires all added to today. Marlon Williams singing "Now is the Hour" in Maori and English was haunting and beautiful, the most beautiful version I've heard.

There is a tradition of throwing flowers and messages into the Avon River. These are the hands of 2 St Johns Ambulance staff who were holding a large box of flowers to hand to people to throw into the river. They were lovely gracious people.

I threw purple stock flowers into the Avon for Rhys. I think he would have approved over pink carnations. The red rose I threw in was all those who have suffered because of the earthquakes. Natural disasters do change you and many still suffer in various ways.

There are clearly negative impacts from natural disasters but there are positives too. I think I'm stronger and more resilient. Another positive is that I appreciate little ordinary things more. While I've had more than my share of issues with the Earthquake Commission and Fletchers Earthquake Repair Programme, it's coming right and I'm fortunate to live in a country where insurance and repairs are possible. I've been well loved and supported by family friends too.

I met up with a colleague near the memorial. After we'd chatted a while and taken in what was happening we quietly headed back to work. Her flowers were placed in a road cone, another tradition on this day in Christchurch. And there is no shortage of road cones!

Life does go on. My home is at last fixed and I'm coming to the end of my contact with the Earthquake Commission for that event. I may need to deal with them again in my lifetime. Beneath the surface we're a busy little country in an active seismic sequence.

At work my boss demoed what we launched today to the big boss. Both bosses are beaming and pleased with what I've done, and that makes me happy :-)

Now I have a few changes to make to Dad's 90th birthday invite. Yep, he'll clock up that big number in a few weeks. Then I'll appreciate the ordinary and mundane task of going to the supermarket - something we couldn't do this time 6 years ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.