SarahClem

By SC26

Memories

I accompanied my Mum on a drive in to Suffolk today to put some flowers on my Grandma's grave. My Grandma; Peggy Jean's grave is located two plots away from my Grandad; David. They died just three months apart many years ago now, though my Grandma was sixteen years younger than Grandad. Along with my other Grandma (who also died in the same year), I dearly wish that I had time get to know them all more. I wish I knew them now, as an adult, rather than as the teenager I was. As I've got older, and after losing Dad, I've had such a thirst for my family history- to know more and more about these amazing people who have shaped who I am. I am so proud to come from a family of incredibly strong women.

Mum and I stopped off at a farm shop on the way home near Snape, which does amazing cherry and chocolate roulade, which we felt only right we share a piece at 11am.

This afternoon, whilst trying to mend some broken and flat bike tyres, we came across two boxes which contained forgotten boardgames, puzzles and books from my childhood. It was so great stumbling across them. Highlights included the Alphabet Race game, which I always played with Dad, the Neighbours card game, all my Mr Men books and a pencil case full of my marbles from primary school. My board game collection has unexpectedly tippled in size!

I gave my bike it's first trip out in a couple of years with a evening cycle along the river.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.