We All Love a Lighthouse

I'd originally intended to spend a couple more nights away but the combination of less than ideal weather, feeling somewhat exhausted and having an annoying cough made me decide to head for home today. I did decide I would stop at Portland Bill but with the weather forecast, I wasn't sure how likely I was to get a shot.

I pulled up in the car park and the rain was comparatively slight. I got a ticket and visited the loo and then the rain came in. The wind was blowing fiercely too and seemed to be coming from all four directions in turn. I sat in the back of the van hoping for a gap and after a while pulled on top to toe Berghaus and waited. Eventually it did seem to be raining less hard so I grabbed my stuff and went to see what I could do. The best angle I've seen on this lighthouse is the one from the cliffs to the north east. There's all sorts of quarrying waste and equipment that way so that's where I headed..

It was all a bit 'line the shot up and wipe' to start with but gradually the rain stopped (the wind didn't)! I've got a variety of shots of the lighthouse, the fishermen's huts and one of the very unusual St George's Church which I had to stop at on the way back. You can see them here if you'd like.

I had a bite to eat in the Lobster Pot that has great view from its perch on the common. It's the building on the extreme right of my blip. Then I headed for home where I'm now cosy and warm. Lady Marian is with her sister up in Northumberland at the moment and moving on to Edinburgh later in the week. 

Many thanks for all your comments hearts and stars on yesterday's Banjo Pier. I'll be getting round to thanking you as I catch up with journals after my weekend away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.