Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Don't jump in, Archie!

An early rise for aquafit this morning. But what a shock! The heating in the pool is broken, and much to the annoyance of most of the aquafitters, the sauna wasn't working! Drastic. I hope they fix it before my next visit.

I spotted Mr Wan doing his lengths, but I was just doing my cycling at the deep end, avoiding swimmers. I was quite glad to get out after aquafit - I'm in the water for a whole hour, and I come out like a prune...

I also went to the gym and completed my circuit, then home for breakfast, to find JR and Archie sitting outside in the sunshine! Out of the wind, it was pleasant, but that wind was straight from the Arctic!

We went over to Harrison Park for walkies before my (NHS) physio. It was SO cold, but actually quite sheltered by the canal. We walked along for about half an hour, then back again. While I was in physio, Archie gets another walk round the neighbourhood.

My physio was very pleased with me. I have made some small improvements in the month since my last visit, and I was even able to have a ten minute go on the bike! It helped to distract me from the pain by chatting to Naomi (my physio) about rugby, and how well Scotland are doing. She had been to see the Ireland home game.

She seemed slightly unimpressed that I was also going to acupuncture, but was happy that I felt it helped (it's hard to know though, really).

MOAN: The people who bought our flat (three years ago) have been most unhelpful in passing on mail. For instance, our bus passes, parking permit renewal, and car insurance (which fortunately auto-renewed) were not passed to us - and that's just the ones we know about! So when we got a text yesterday informing us of recent mail, we popped round to pick up two bills from Onetel. They must have been sent repeatedly since we moved. We only used Onetel (now TalkTalk), occasionally to ring NZ, but have got a bill for £50! When I rang them they explained that it included 'late fees'... LATE FEES!! Not Happy!

PS I know it's really my own fault for not terminating the contract when we moved, but I forgot, as it was something we rarely used. We re-directed mail for three months. Besides, we happily re-directed mail to our former owners for a couple of years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.