LifeLines

By LifeLines

A page in one of Mum's diaries.  It must date from the early 1980s and describes her life as a mother of two young children.  In this entry she describes a meeting with friends to discuss college courses with a tutor - she was always an avid learner.  Having left school as soon as she could to pursue a career in the West End of London, she went on to study for O Levels, A Levels, a BA and MA, followed by a PhD! 

I love dipping into this record of her life, reading about her activities and thoughts.  A glimpse into the life of a mother, often frustrated at being stuck at home, seeking to keep up with a busy array of family activities whilst pursuing other interests and ambitions.

I note in this year I appear to have given her four Mother's Day cards each with a different message - including one to let her know I had requested Dad make her breakfast in bed (I assume I was too young to do it myself - or I must have been very cheeky!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.