Oysters Of The Storm

There is an annual block party on my street, always on Labor Day weekend. Here's a shot from last year. This time one neighbor, Ascher (white hat) celebrated his new home by remembering his lost home with oysters.

I don't know the man but we look familiar to each other. He left New Orleans when Hurricane Katrina wrecked the place seven years ago, and he says that when he goes back lately, some of it looks better than it did before the storm. Evidently he's settled in Philly but left his heart in NOLA.

I've never even heard of preparing otsters this way, but I've never visited that fabled city. I didn't get the recipe from Ascher but here's one for the sauce that seems exactly like the delightful surprise-food I ate. Very distinct in the taste were the garlic and the Romano cheese.

Drago's Style Charbroiled Oysters Recipe
The Sauce [for 1 dozen freshly shucked oysters]:

1 Stick Unsalted Butter, very soft
1 Pinch Kosher Salt
1 tsp Freshly Ground Black Pepper
1 Tbsp Minced Garlic
4 Tbsp Pecorino Romano
1 pinch Cayenne
1 pinch White Pepper
1 Spritz Lemon Juice
1 tsp Minced Italian Parsley


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.