bananablip

By bananablip

A few of my favourite things

This morning I picked up this magnificent tray of free food, donated by a local supermarket to the wonderful Shrewsbury Food Hub and handed over to us for our new Good Food Club which is starting tomorrow. I kinda like food and so this is the absolute dream for me. We’ll have a group of young people selected by the school and each week we’ll meet together to talk about food and hopefully do a bit of cooking together. It’s my hope that it will be a brilliant safe space for them to come and be heard, in a world where often they’re not.

So today’s task is to figure out what I’m going to do with a load of fruit, some bread and some veggies. I think it’s over ambitious to hope that they’re going to enjoy eating cabbage in their first session though.

The somewhat hilarious items included are about twenty scotch bonnets. I think we’ll steer clear of those for now. Can you believe all of that delicious food was going to be wasted?

Gosh, hasn’t it just been glorious these last few days? My lack of blipping has been due to generally being lost in wonder at looking up into the sky and seeing magnificent blue skies and a glorious golden ball. 

This morning I've got an emergency appointment with the dentist as I've been popping painkillers for the last few days and am finally admitting defeat. If you never hear from me again, I'll be passed out on the dentist's chair.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.