bananablip

By bananablip

Good Food Club is GO!

The Good Food Club was planned and prepped and ready to go, although we were still unsure as to whether the consent forms had reached home and whether any kids would turn up at all. Thankfully, they did!

Our new fruit of the week to try was a Pepino Melon (fascinating and cucumber like) and it was so nice to see the young people savouring the taste and smell and talking about the flavours. Then we made 'posh' beans on toast i.e. not out of a Heinz tin followed by an expertly chopped fruit salad. So much fun! I loved seeing the young people getting stuck in to the food preparation and then enjoying eating the results. I loved the empty plates and hearing 'I'm going to make this at home'. Everyone left with a recipe card, and apple and a smile.

I'm alive, by the way, and I think the source of my gum pain was some stuck food, pretty embarrassing but still painful to remove. I think the offending item was a chia seed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.