Lunch in Clitheroe

I thought I'd take a couple of days off this week, kind of like an early birthday present to myself. (Note to self: don't forget to buy a birthday present.) However, the perennial - but not unwelcome - blurring of the borders of my work/life balance meant that I actually spent the morning with Steve, working at my house, which was rather pleasant, as usual.

Then I hopped in the car and headed for Clitheroe to meet the also holidaying Minx for a bite to eat. I like Clitheroe for the same reasons that I like Keswick - that is the preponderance of independent shops - but it also has the advantage of only being thirty-five or so miles of very pleasant driving away. 

The Minx had chosen the Emporium as a lunch venue, which, coincidentally, is where I came last time I visited the town. And after that we had a wander about, so I could buy a present for Charlie, whose birthday is also this week. Amongst Clitheroe's many pleasures is a paper shop that smells *exactly* how such establishments did in my youth and also a gorgeous book shop, where, frankly, I could have spent the afternoon. 

I did take a picture of the castle but in the end I prefer this rather mundane shot of the street (not least as it features the Minx, albeit in miniature). 

****
-4.1kg

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.