Vikings Land At Eid

It was pouring with rain when I woke, and continued for a few hours.  The rain finally passed, and then sun came out for a few hours, then returning to cloud and showers.  It's been breezy most of the day! 

I've been working on the museum desk all day.  It was a quiet morning, but I was busy working with photo updates.  After lunch, we had a school visit from Sound Primary, and a lot of visitors too.  It's been a quiet evening, walkies with Sammy too, and then off to the pub to work for a few hours. 

I had to pop down the road at lunchtime, and spied an usual item on the beach.  The South Mainland Up Helly Aa was a few weeks ago now, but with the windy night, the galley capsized and didn't burn.  Uncle Leonard has taken it back here for a summer party and burning with the Jarl Squad.  Mam's house, where I grew up on the left, I know these banks and beach inside out, so easily spot a new addition here.  Wonder if it's the first viking galley to land on the beach here?  Taken at Ayre of Aith, Cunningsburgh. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.