Airshow

Early morning again for Steve. Earlier than yesterday. And after a very late night - I'm not entirely sure when he eventually came to bed. Fiddling with something on ProPresenter until the small hours. But a good morning, off out for a barbecue'd breakfast with the Jubilee men! I decided I didn't want either me or the boys to miss out so we had pancakes and chocolate sauce, and sausages, and strawberries and had a proper little feast of our own for breakfast :)

Steve came home and wondered why on earth we weren't champing at the bit and ready to go out to the airshow! Eventually we were, and eventually we headed out to the station to get the train into Shoreham. We had a great time at the airshow, Ben got to sit in a helicopter (more than I've ever done!) and enjoyed watching the planes, but got really scared when they did their Airfield Attack display. He was convinced it was somehow more real than it was, and was almost in tears, cuddling into Steve. Charley remained utterly oblivious, having gone rooting in my handbag to find the hairbrush again, and was busy brushing the ground with it. He spent a happy time chasing Ben around us, shrieking happily, just going round and round and round! Ben came away with a new toy plane, a Blackbird. He likes it :) We came away considerably poorer but glad we'd only taken a very limited amount of cash. We stayed long enough to see the Vulcan, what a noisy bird that was. It's the Vulcan's Diamond Jubilee this year, and it's being retired next year. A lot of people thought it was the end after the Vulcan, but we ended up sticking around and got to see the brilliant Breitling Wingwalkers! I seriously wonder how insane you have to be (and how utterly fit) to be a wingwalker. They were amazing. I'm glad we stuck around!

We walked back to the station via the playpark and stopped for a play, then home for something to eat (backblipping - how can I have completely no idea what we had for tea and it's only Tuesday...).

Once the boys were in bed I baked my cups and bowls to fix the enamel, having discovered that sharpies (being solvent based) were melting the unbaked enamel! Oops. That's what the experimenting is for, I guess...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.