janes world

By JustJane

The past.....

This picture was sent to us after a visit from an old couple who had come back to Scotland from England to visit where the man (Eric) and his family had grown up.
Craig (my hubby) had been decorating if front room and I was at work, when they popped by...and Craig asked if they'd like to come in and have a look around.

His mum was born in this house along with the rest of her nine siblings. As the letter explains she is the little girl with her hand on her mums knee.

Eric was sure that they had a photo of the family at the back of our house in 1910 and promised to send us a copy if they could find it. And right enough they kept their promise and the photo arrived about a week later.
I have hung it in our hall and everytime I look at it I imagine all those kids running around on these very floor boards hundred years ago.....amazing!

And to think we did a loft extension because there wasn't enough room for FOUR of us!

I love how we've got a little insight into the history of our house and we can actually see their faces.
Our old neighbour is 96 and she lived in this house for a while to.

If we ever move from here I will definately leave the new people a copy of this photo. It'd be nice if it could always be here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.