am bioran

By AmBioran

Old stag

Packed up the icy cardboard tent in the dark and set off at 7am as the sun was brightening the eastern sky. 

On the way up the glen I spotted this old master stretching his limbs before the sun warmed him. 

At 9am I reached the summit of An Sithean, a remote Corbett with absolutely stunning views over Loch Monar to the Mullardoch peaks and the Cheesecake to the west. Then a two hour trudge in the beating hot sun over snow fields, grass and gravel. It felt desert like  with shimmering mirages in the distance. The silence was broken by a pair of Golden Plovers dotting about in the snow patches calling to each other. 

Onwards to Bac an Eich (no backache), where for the first time ever that I can recall, I was able to unfold and lay my OS map on the ground without risk of it disappearing off a cliff, so calm was the air. (I don't often have a need to open the map, but today I could see sooo many peaks I had trouble identifying them. 

My descent was a devious line not mentioned in any guidebooks and made for a rapid return to the car and then home. What a weekend!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.